One of Twitter’s oldest features is being revamped; a new setting is being rolled out for direct messaging. The setting gives users the option of receiving private messages from anyone following them.
Twitter explains, “Generally, you must follow someone before they have the ability to direct message you. If you check this option, any Twitter user that follows you will be able to send you a DM, regardless of whether you decide to follow them back.”
Before this new setting, users were unable to send a direct message to someone in their follower list if that person was not following them back. In order to make contact a user was forced to post a tweet containing the message or question for the user who was not following them. Twitter will now avoid these awkward moments with this new setting.
The setting is switched off by default, but once enabled you can receive direct messages from any one of your followers.
Twitter users will still have the ability to block someone who is bothering them and still keep the checkbox on. It appears that the new setting has been rolling out slowly over the past week. Before turning on the option Twitter users will receive this note, “If you check this option, any Twitter user that follows you will be able to send you a DM, regardless of whether you decide to follow them back.”
The new change will also open the door for brands and businesses to receive private messages from consumers.
Over the last year, Twitter partnered up with several TV networks in an attempt to promote its social networking service. Earlier this year Twitter rolled out iOS, Mac, and Android updates to sync the status of direct messages.
The new setting is continues to roll out and may not be available to all Twitter users at this time.
There were reports of changes in direct message policies with verified accounts in 2011; some verified Twitter account holders were able to send direct message to users they weren’t following. Those rumors were shut down when Twitter confirmed direct messaging is only available to users who are being followed by the user they are following – until now.
Photo via technorati.com
Edited by Rachel Ramsey